Check out Major Darts Tournaments Below

Darts World Grand Prix Odds

The Darts World Grand Prix is one of the most unique tournaments in the world, the reason for this is that it is the only tournament on the PDC Circuit that includes the "Double In" start requirement. However, that's not all, it is one of two tournaments that has the 'sets' format, meaning unique betting opportunities are available for bettors during the World Grand Prix.

The tournament takes place during October of each year and last year, we saw defending Champion Michael Van Gerwen shocked in the second round after defeat by Chris Dobey but it would be Luke Humphries who would go on to win his first major TV title after a dominating performance against Gerwyn Price who actually won the first set 3-0.

Darts World Grand Prix Format

The Darts World Grand Prix is an epic event due to it's format and with unique betting odds available due to the inclusion of sets. It is important that bettors understand the format of the event before they place their bets.

  • In the first round, players play a best of three sets (3 legs per set), this means that the first player to two sets will be victorious.
  • In the second round and the quarter finals, the players play a best of five sets, meaning the first player to win three sets moves on to the next round.
  • In the semi-final, this increases again to seven sets, meaning that players have to win four sets to move onto the final.
  • In the final round, players play a best of nine sets and five sets are required to win the tournament. This means that the final of the tournament could possible go to 45 legs of Darts. Last years final went just 29 matches.

World Grand Prix Darts - Last 10 Winners

Only three players have won more the competition more than once. Phil Taylor holds the record winning a whopping 11 times, never losing in a final. The second is Michael Van Gerwen who holds six wins in seven final appearances. The third is James Wade who has won twice, defeating Adrian Lewis and Terry Jenkins in his two wins. Five other players have won the the tournament once.

2023Luke Humphries5-2Gerwyn Price
2022Michael van Gerwen5–3Nathan Aspinall
2021Jonny Clayton5–1Gerwyn Price
2020Gerwyn Price5-2Dirk van Duijvenbode
2019Michael Van Gerwen5-2Dave Chisnall
2018Michael Van Gerwen5-2Peter Wright
2017Daryl Gurney5-4Simon Whitlock
2016Michael Van Gerwen5-2Gary Anderson
2015Robert Thornton5-4Michael Van Gerwen
2014Michael Van Gerwen5-3James Wade

World Grand Prix Darts - Nine Dart Finishes

Nine Dart finishes are a newer but simple betting market and they typically are set across an entire tournament. However, when it comes to this tournament, these finishes have been quite sporadic with just three in the history of the competition. What is quite miraculous is that all three occasions have included the Darts player James Wade. Who was on the receiving end of nine-darters against Brendan Dolan in 2011 and Robert Thornton in 2014 but the brilliant thing is - James Wade hit his own in the same match against Thornton. Only three have happened in the history of the event and two of them were in the same match!

The reason nine-darters are so uncommon in this format is because of the double in element of the tournament. This also leads to smaller averages as a whole, only twenty matches have seen an average of over 100, Phil Taylor was the player responsible in nine of those 20 games.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.