Next Prime Minister Odds

Betting on the next Prime Minister in the United Kingdom is one of the biggest betting markets in Politics, odds are set in place approximately halfway through a campaign with odds on the party that are likely to win. The two parties that go head-to-head in the United Kingdom for the role of next Prime Minister are the Conservative party and the Labour party.

The last elected Prime Minister was Boris Johnson who held the role between 2019 and 2022. However, both Liz Truss and Rishi Sunak have taken on the role since Johnson's resignation and Rishi Sunak will take on Keir Starmer in the next UK general election on July 4th.

Who will win in the next UK General Election?

If you believe the betting odds, Labour are 99% certain win the next General Election. At the time of writing, Labour are 1/100 to obtain the most seats and Keir Starmer is 1/40 to be Prime Minister after the election.

This means that it is very likely that there will be a Labour Majority, which also sits at 1/40. It seems like the only hope of a Labour Minority falls into the hands of the Liberal Democrats, who sit at 250/1 to win the Election but a Labour + Liberal government can be found at odds of 20/1.

However, there are more betting markets available such as Voter Turnout percentages and then comparison votes between Conservatives, Reform and the Liberal Democrats.

However, the most popular betting market could be on the number of seats obtained, a party required 326 to win an election and if you think it's going to be a close-call for Labour, you can back them to pick up between 300-349 seats.

Percentages based on the betting odds of likely seats, mean we could see something like:

Labour - 460 Conservatives - 114 Liberal Democrats - 50 SNP - 24 Reform - 2

How do I bet on the Next Prime Minister?

The next Prime Minister bet is a single bet, meaning that you'll only be able to bet on this market as single odds or as part of an accumulator. This particular market will only apply to the next election and is one of the easiest bet types to bet on as you're simply placing a bet on the next leader of the United Kingdom.

The betting odds for this market likely won't change too much by the time the general election comes around. Boris Johnson had a significant edge over Jeremy Corbyn in 2019 and it looks like the swing from Conservative to Labour will be in full effect when the next election comes around with the latest odds showing the Conservative party at a massive disadvantage.

How does the UK general election work?

The UK general election is the process of the British public voting for the constituency and representative that they wish to serve as Prime Minister. A politician from each party will be elected as leader of the party and following the announcement of an election, the candidates for the election will be announced, these are typically the current leaders of a party.

In-between the announcement and the election, there are months of campaigning where the leaders can persuade voters to follow their party. After months of campaigning, the designated election day will be announced and on this day, registered voters will go to their local polling stations to cast their votes or alternatively, in the modern day, utilise an electronic voting system. This goes on for almost an entire day until the polls close. Once polls close, each polling station will count up their votes and the results will be announced.

During the results, you'll find out the number of seats a party will have, a seat is given by receiving the most seats in an area. The party with the most seats will form the government. Alternatively, if there isn't a party with a majority hold, a coalition may be formed. The leader of the leading party is then given the role of Prime Minister.

Who is Rishi Sunak?

Before taking on the role of Prime Minister, Rishi Sunak was a British politician and member of the Conservative Party. He served as the Chancellor of the Exchequer, succeeding Sajid Javid and was one of the few politicians who came out favourable following the health and safety concerns between 2020 and 2022, thus leading to his rise to the Prime Minister position after Boris Johnson resigned and Liz Truss was given a vote of no confidence by her own mps.

How many Labour Prime Ministers have there been?

There have been four Prime Ministers from the Labour Party in the United Kingdom. Here is a list of the Labour Prime Ministers:

Ramsay MacDonald: He served as Prime Minister from 1924 to 1924 and again from 1929 to 1935.

Clement Attlee: He served as Prime Minister from 1945 to 1951.

Harold Wilson: He served as Prime Minister from 1964 to 1970 and again from 1974 to 1976.

James Callaghan: He served as Prime Minister from 1976 to 1979.

Tony Blair: He served as Prime Minister from 1997 to 2007 and was the longest-serving Labour Prime Minister to date.

Gordon Brown: He served as Prime Minister from 2007 and 2010. He was the last Labour Prime Minister.

At the next general election, Keir Starmer will look to be the seventh Labour Prime Minister after 13 years of Conservative control. It looks likely that Starmer will be the next Prime Minister as the early betting odds are heavily in the favour of Labour. However, Brexit showed that the betting odds can be wrong.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.