Multi information

Unfortunately, we are not available in your area!

You are visiting a version of our website that is outside of your region.

Grand National Betting

The Aintree Grand National is possibly one of the most famous horse races in the world. Scheduled to take place at Aintree in April of each year, the race takes in the longest distance of any UK horse race and some of the biggest and most recognisable chances fences worldwide. Here at Bet UK, we have all the ante-post betting odds available for the event. Although many names from the list of predicted runners will change throughout the season, for some horses, this is their season goal to run and possibly win this race.

Grand National Betting Odds

The odds for The Grand National are available to the public months in advance. The odds for the race next year are sometimes published just after the previous race has finished. When sportsbooks select the odds, many factors are taken into account, including their performance in The Grand National in recent years and how they've performed in other races in the build-up to the race, including contests such as Welsh National and Scottish National.

When it comes to the race itself, Bet UK will have all the live odds available in the build-up, and bettors will be able to place their win each way and forecast bets right until the race starts.

Bet on The Grand National

Bettors who choose to place their Grand National bets at Bet UK can also view a live stream of the race directly on the betting odds page. So after you've placed your bets on our page on race day, the stream will start just before the runners head to post. You'll then be able to watch the race live from start to finish.

Grand National Winners

If you're looking for past race winners to potentially give you an insight into the sports betting odds, then we've listed the winners below.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey
2022 Noble Yeats Emmet Mullins Sam Waley-Cohen
2021 Minella Times Henry De Bromhead Rachel Blackmore
2019 Tiger Roll Gordon Elliott Davy Russell
2018 Tiger Roll Gordon Elliott Davy Russell
2017 One For Arthur Derek Fox Lucinda Russell
2016 Rule the World Mouse Morris David Mullins
2015 Many Clouds Oliver Sherwood Leighton Aspell

*note in 2020, a virtual race took place instead of the live race

Tips for the Grand National

In the build-up to the race and across the entire three-day meeting at Aintree, Bet UK will have betting tips for all of the feature Group One races and, of course, the national itself. Whether you prefer waiting until the day of the race to place your bets or looking at the ante-post markets, our tips will live in enough time for bettors to gain enough insight.

Grand National Qualification

When looking for horses that may compete in The Grand National, bettors must be aware that they must adhere to feature in the race. The criteria are:

  • Seven-year-old and up
  • Must have started a chase race before the 22nd March in the current season
  • Placed in the first four in a chase of two miles and seven and a half furlongs or more
  • Have a rating of 125 or more by February 14th
  • Horses must have run three times or more under chase rules by February 14th

Grand National FAQs

What time is the Grand National

The Grand National is run at 5:15 pm for it to be televised.

How long is the Aintree Grand National

The Grand National is the longest race in the UK, and the official distance of the race is 4 miles and 2 ½ furlongs and will take in 16 fences on two laps of the course. Horses will jump the first 14 of the fences twice.

What are the most famous fences in the Grand National?

On the Aintree course, some fences stand out more than the others. The most notable fences include the Chair (only jumped once), Becher' Brook, The Canal Turn, and Foinavon.

Who is the horse with the most Grand National wins?

The only horse who has won the Grand National on three occasions is Red Rum. The horse won the race in 1973, 1974, and 1977.

What horses have won the Grand National with the longest odds?

There are five horses that have won the race priced 100/1. The most recent of these was Mon Mome in 2009, and the first was Alcibiade in 1865.

What is the fewest number of horses to finish the Grand National?

Often in the betting, there are ranges for the number of horses, and in 1928 only two horses managed to finish the race.

What is the fastest time ever to win the Grand National?

The fastest horse to win The Grand National was Mr Frisk in 1980. The time was 8:47:80.

When was the first grand national held?

The first Grand National was held in 1839, and 30 horses took part in that race.

Which jockeys have never won the Grand National?

Thirteen jockeys have featured in the race more than 12 times but failed to win and feature in the top 3. These include Tom Scudamore, Noel Fehily, Andrew Thorton, and Stan Mellor.

How many grey horses have won the Grand National?

When browsing the race card before The Grand National, the grey horses are normally popular with punters. However, three greys have ever won the race. These are The Lamb (1868, 1871), Nicolaus Silver (1961), and Neptune Collonges (2012).

Can I bet on female jockeys to win The Grand National?

Punters can not bet specifically on female jockeys to win the race. However, Rachel Blackmore won the race in 2021, so punters can choose to bet on their mounts.

Looking for more Horse Racing Betting? Check out our betting markets for the following events:

Cheltenham Festival Betting

Irish Horse Racing Betting

Royal Ascot Betting

American Horse Racing Betting