Queen Mother Champion Chase Odds

The Cheltenham Festival is packed full of iconic horse racing action and the feature race on day two of the event is the Champion Chase, which sees punters flocking to place a bet. One of the most competitive races of the week, the two-mile Champion Chase is the shortest jumps race of the week and is open to chasers who not only have the speed to handle the distance but can also cope with the tricky last fence which can make or break a horse’s chances. At BetUK, we offer extensive Champion Chase odds and betting markets.

About The Champion Chase 

The feature grade one to happen on day two of the festival, the Queen Mother Champion Chase, is categorised as the leading minimum-distance chase even of the entire national hunt season.

Hosted annually on Ladies' Day, the race has been contested since 1959. However, it was given the Queen Mother's name in 1980 in recognition of the royal support of national hunt racing. In the modern era, the race is contested on the Old Course at Cheltenham, and those horses looking to take the title will have to prove their worth.

The race is open to the two-mile chasers who have competed in feeder races such as the Tingle Creek, Clarence House Chase and Game Spirit Chase, as these can offer a training stepping stone towards the two-mile Champion Chase. However, when running the race, it's the final fence which can cause problems, which means several horses return for multiple attempts in this event.

Champion Chase Betting Tips 

In addition to odds, we also offer Queen Mother Champion Chase betting tips. These take a look at the form, key trends, favourites, and potential outsiders to win the race.

Cheltenham Champion Chase Odds 2024

Before you place a bet on the Champion Chase, you will need to browse the odds and markets available. In the build-up to the Cheltenham Festival, we'll have all of the top odds for the most popular markets you can expect to find, with the main bet being on which horse will win the race. So whether you're looking to back the winner of this two-mile race, or back the forecast, take a look and see what horse racing betting is on offer for the Queen Mother Champion Chase at Cheltenham.

Queen Mother Champion Chase Winners 

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is a test of skill and speed, taking in 13 fences of various shapes and sizes. Due to the race being quite a unique offering, only a few horses have gone on to win the race multiple times within their career, including Nicky Henderson’s Altior, alongside Master Minded, Skymas, Barnbrook Again, Sprinter Sacre, Pearlyman, Hilly Way, Drinny’s Double, Viking Flagship, Fortria, and Badsworth Boy. However, if you’re looking for the most recent winners, you can see them listed below.

Recent Champion Chase Winners

  • 2023 - Energumene
  • 2022 - Energumene 
  • 2021 - Put The Kettle On 
  • 2020 - Politologue 
  • 2019 - Altior 
  • 2018 - Altior 
  • 2017 - Special Tiara 
  • 2016 - Sprinter Sacre 
  • 2015 - Dodging Bullets
  • 2014 - Sire de Grugy
  • 2013 - Sprinter Sacre

Champion Chase Leading Jockeys

Many national hunt jockeys earmark this race as the chance to get on the scoreboard at Cheltenham and partnering with a strong trainer can help that cause. In modern racing, Barry Geraghty is one of the most successful jockeys at the Cheltenham Festival five winners in the race aboard horses such as Moscow Flyer.

However, in recent years, many other jockeys have managed to land multiple winners and get their hands on the trophy, with some using it as a key career stepping stone.

Recent Champion Chase Winning Jockeys

  • 2023 - Paul Townend
  • 2022 - Paul Townend
  • 2021 - Aidan Coleman
  • 2020 - Harry Skelton
  • 2019 - Nico de Boinville
  • 2018 - Nico de Boinville
  • 2017 - Noel Fehily
  • 2016 - Nico de Boinville
  • 2015 - Sam Twiston-Davies
  • 2014 - Jamie Moore
  • 2013 - Barry Geraghty

Champion Chase Top Trainers 

When it comes to the Champion Chase trends, the most successful horse which has been involved in the race was partnered by one of the leading trainers, two of whom still send runners to compete.

Both Paul Nicholls and Nicky Henderson take the mantle for the modern leading trainer with multiple graded winners and the pair have dominated the race in recent years, with the former sending Finian's Rainbow, Sprinter Sacre and Altior to victory. The latter managed to win the race with Master Minded, Dodging Bullets and Politologue.

However, there have been occasions when Irish trainers such as W P Mullins have sent multiple winners to the race, so they can't be ruled out of contention.

Recent Champion Chase Winning Trainers

-2023 - W P Mullins

  • 2022 - W P Mullins
  • 2021 - Henry de Bromhead
  • 2020- Paul Nicholls
  • 2019 - Nicky Henderson
  • 2018 - Nicky Henderson
  • 2017 - Henry de Bromhead
  • 2016 - Nicky Henderson
  • 2015 - Paul Nicholls
  • 2014 - Gary Moore
  • 2013 - Nicky Henderson

Queen Mother Champion Chase Odds FAQs 

When is the Queen Mother Champion Chase? 

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is the feature race on the second day of the Cheltenham Festival. It will be held at 3:30 pm on the 15th of March 2024.

Who is the Favourite to Win the 2024 Renewal?

El Fabiolo is the bookmakers' early favourite to win the race in the latest odds. However, horses such as Jonbon and Edwardstone also rated highly in the Champion Chase betting markets.

Who Won the 2023 Renewal of the Champion Chase? 

The 2023 Champion Chase was won by Energumene for trainer Willie Mullins. 

What is the Distance of the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

Raced over two miles, there are 13 fences for the horses to contend with.

Who is the Most Successful Trainer in the Champion Chase?

Both Paul Nicholls and Nicky Henderson have six Champion Chase wins in their careers. This mantle is also held by Tom Dreaper, who trained horses such as Fortria, Ben Stack, Flyingbolt, Muir, and Straight Fort across a decade.

Who is the Most Successful Jockey in the Champion Chase?

There are joint most successful jockeys in the race’s history, with five wins in total. Barry Geraghty rode Moscow Flyer (2003, 2005), Big Zeb (2010), Finian’s Rainbow (2012), and Sprinter Sacre (2013) to victory. Meanwhile, Pat Taaffe rode Fortria (1960, 1961), Ben Stack (1964), Flyingbolt (1966), and Straight Fort (1970) to wins.

What is the Prize Money on Offer in the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

The purse on offer for the Queen Mother Champion Chase is in the ballpark of £250,000.

Which Races Are Key Trials For the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

There are three races which stand out, including the Clarence House Chase which was won by Sire De Grugy before his victory. The Desert Orchid Chase and The Game Spirit Chase are the other races to focus on.

Who Was the First Winner of the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

The first horse to win this event was Quita Que in 1959, ridden by Bunny Cox and trained by Dan Moore.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.