Golf Players Championship Odds

The Players Championship is one of the top Golf tournaments in the world and one of the leading competitions as part of the PGA Tour. Historically, this tournament used to provide the highest purse in the Golf at $20,000,000 and has been previously be referred to as the fifth major but there remains four majors which are the Masters, U.S Open, the Open Championship and PGA Championship. It says a lot about the event that it is so highly regarded by the Golf community and that is another reason why the Golf Players Championship has a fantastic range of betting odds for the event.

Golf Players Championship Details

  • 2023 Date: March 9th - March 12th
  • Venue Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
  • Course: TPC Sawgrass
  • Par: 72
  • Defending Champion: Cameron Smith -13
  • Current Favourite: Jon Rahm

Bet on Golf

Betting Markets for the Players Championship

When looking to place a bet on the Players Championship, bettors must be aware of the various options available to them and the best chances they have of winning each bet. Some of the betting markets that you can find include:

Overall Outright Winner

The biggest market for this event comes in the form of the Outright winner, in this scenario, you'll be placing a bet on the overall winner of the competition. A good indicator for who will win the event tends to be players who are in-form, the best Golfers of the season will come to the Players Championship looking to make a statement.

Day Winner/Leader

With this bet, you'll be looking at the player who to win the first day of the competition. With this in mind, it will also be the leader of the Players Championship after the first day. This is the area of betting that changes per day, so the day two winner might not necessarily be the leader after day two if they've had a poor first day. For example, 2022 winner Cameron Smith was nowhere near the lead for the opening two days and wasn't the best player on day 3, but he was the most consistent which led to him winning the prize over the likes of Dustin Johnson and Viktor Hovland who had low scores on some days but not others and the likes of Tommy Fleetwood and Erik Van Rooyen who had excellent days, getting the lowest score of the day but failing to keep consistency across those days. Betting odds will dramatically change during each day but remember that the competition is played across three rounds and it can only be won on the Sunday but it can be lost at any time.

Each Way Betting on the Players Championship

If you're looking to get less odds for your bet but have a better chance of securing victory in sports betting, you may choose to look at each-way betting. This allows your selection to still payout at decreased odds even if your selection loses. These will traditionally drop at odds of 1/5 depending on the position of the selection but each way bets of coverage in-case your golfer has an unlucky streak.

For example, if you're backing Scottie Scheffler to win but he loses out and comes second on the final day, you'll be able to receive a payout that could still make you a profit, depending on the price and payout. It is likely in Golf competitions that your selection finishing second or third will still provide you with a profitable payout but this is never guaranteed until your see the odds in-front of you.

Players Eligible for the Players Championship

Typically, bettors will have to wait longer than most to get betting odds for the Players Championship, this is due to the criteria for being selected to play in the tournament. To qualify as one of the 144 players in the tournament, you must fit one of the following criteria.

  1. Have won PGA Tour events since previous tournament.
  2. Be in the top 125 from the previous season's FedEx Cup point list.
  3. Have won a Major from the last five years.
  4. Have won the Players Championship in the last five years.
  5. Have won one of the following events in the last three years: Tour Championship, World Golf Championship, Memorial Tournament, Arnold Palmer Invitational or Genesis Invitation.
  6. Sit in the top 50 of the Official World Golf Rankings.
  7. Senior Players Championship champion or Korn Ferry Tour leader from prior year.
  8. Top 10 current FedEx points leaders.
  9. If these criteria don't build a list of 144 players, the remaining positions will be filled from the current seasons FedEx Cup.

Players Championship Last Five Winners

2022Cameron SmithAnirban Lahiri-13
2021Justin ThomasLee Westwood-14
2019Rory McIlroyJim Furyk-16
2018Webb SimpsonXander Schauffele-14
2017Kim Si-woo-10Louis Oosthuizen

*2020 Players Championship cancelled due to the COVID 19 pandemic.

Golf Players Championship FAQs

Who has won the Players Championship the most?

It is rare that Golfers win the Players Championship multiple times even the best players have failed to win the event at all. Tiger Woods is the latest name to win the Players Championship multiple times but it is actually Jack Nicklaus who has won the event on the most occasions winning in 1974, 1976 and 1978, winning by an average score of two strokes each time. Only five other names have won the competition more than once, so historically, betting on a new winner may be the way to go if you're betting before tee-off.

Who is the favourite to win the 2023 Players Championship?

Jon Rahm is the current favourite to win the Players Championship sitting at 11/1 with the likes of Rory McIlroy and Justin Thomas sitting closely behind.

What is the prize money split across the 2023 Players Championship?

The total prize pool for the 2023 Players Championship is a grand total of $20,000,000.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.