EFL Trophy Betting Odds

The EFL Trophy is arguably the most interesting competition in English football but in regards to online betting, isn't as popular as most competitions. The EFL Trophy, formerly known as the Checkatrade Trophy and now the Bristol Street Motors trophy, (due to sponsorship reasons) is a knockout competition in English football involving clubs from League One, League Two, and, in some cases, under-21 teams from Premier League and Championship clubs.

EFL Trophy odds begin at the outright odds at the start of the campaign where you'll find the teams available to win the competition based on the group stages of the tournament.

EFL Trophy Outright Odds

At the start of the season, you'll be able to find betting odds for a team to win the competition. This bet can be a difficult one to predict at the start of the season because under 23's teams may see their best players called up to the first team in top leagues while teams in leagues one and two will typically be at the top of the market but may not be the favourite in overall matches because there are no guarantees of success.

You'll also find that a teams success can come with their position in the league, teams that perform well in English League One will perform well at this tournament and high ranked teams in English league Two can be the underdog teams that make it to the latter stages but rarely end up as winners.

EFL Trophy Match Betting

When it comes to betting on matches in the EFL trophy, it is worth betting on goals, these bets come in fairly regularly due to the distinctive gaps between the sides in the competition. The under 21's of Premier League teams shouldn't compete with the likes of Birmingham City and we rarely see these youth teams make it to the latter stages of competitions. An example of this can be found from last years competition when now Championship side Bolton Wanderers beat Manchester United's U21's 8-1. However, having these youth teams in the competition brings more eyes than the original Johnstone Paint Trophy. For those that remember the Johnstone Paint Trophy days, the format isn't too dissimilar, just where Conference - or National League teams as they are now referred to have been replaced with the youth teams of Premier League and Championship clubs.

Winners of the EFL Trophy

2024Peterborough United2-1Wycombe Wanderers
2023Bolton Wanderers4-0Plymouth Argyle
2022Rotherham United4-2Sutton United
2021Sunderland1-0Tranmere Rovers
2020Salford City0-0Portsmouth
2018Lincoln City1-0Shrewsbury Town
2017Coventry City2-1Oxford United
2016Barnsley3-2Oxford United
2015Bristol City2-0Walsall

The EFL Trophy has never been won by the same team in back-to-back years. The closest any team has gotten was Blackpool in 2002 and 2004. However, in the year in-between, 2003 Blackpool were beaten in the second round by Crewe Alexandra.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.