NFL's MVP award is the Most Valuable Player award during a season and is given by the Associated Press and the Pro Football Writers of America to the player who was deemed the most valuable to their club during the regular season. So, the NFL playoffs and the Super Bowl may be vital for other end of season award but to win NFL MVP awards, a player must be the best during the season.

The only player to win the Super Bowl and win the NFL MVP in the last 10 years was quarterback Patrick Mahomes who was the NFL MVP for the 2022 season and won the Super Bowl on February 12th 2023 as the Chiefs scored 17 points in the final quarter against the leagues best defence in the Philadelphia Eagles to win the Super Bowl


YearPlayerTeamSuper Bowl Winners?
2023Lamar JacksonBaltimore RavensNo
2022Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsYes
2021Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersNo
2020Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersNo
2019Lamar JacksonBaltimore RavensNo
2018Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsNo
2017Tom BradyNew England PatriotsFinalists
2016Matt RyanAtlanta FalconsFinalists
2015Cam NewtonCarolina PanthersFinalists
2014Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersNo
2013Peyton ManningDenver BroncosFinalists


Patrick Mahomes is the current favourite to win the 2024 MVP award. However, with the added pressure on the Kansas City Chiefs with every passing season, the pre-season odds of 13/2 are sure to change depending on the Chiefs start to the season.

Mahomes picked up his second MVP award in 2022 and will be hoping to add a third in 2024.

The league MVP award began in 1938 and began as the Joe F Carr Trophy. Since then, it has changed names multiple times before finally settling on the NFL MVP award.

The Associate Press MVP award has been won the most by Peyton Manning, who has won the award five times between 2003 and 2013.

However, for the Pro Football Writers of America MVP award Manning shares the award with Aaron Rodgers, who has won the award four times between 2011 and 2021.

Lamar Jackson was the MVP of the regular season, throwing 3,678 passing yards and running 821 rushing yards. Jackson threw 24 passing touchdowns in 16 games as the Ravens accumulated the best record in the NFL.

At the time of writing, Patrick Mahomes sits as the favourite for NFL MVP 13/2. However, here are five other players who could tip Mahomes to the prize.

  • Josh Allen - Buffalo Bills Quarterback - 8/1
  • Joe Burrow - Cincinnati Bengals Quarterback - 8/1
  • C.J Stroud - Houston Texans Quarterback - 10/1
  • Lamar Jackson - Baltimore Ravens Quarterback - 12/1
  • Justin Herbert - Los Angeles Chargers Quarterback - 14/1

If you're looking to back players that aren't QB's, then you'll need to drop down to odds of 50/1+ with Christian McCaffrey, Tyreek Hill and Justin Jefferson the three lowest value names in the NFL MVP odds, they sit with betting odds of 50/1, 80/1 and 90/1 respectively at the time of writing and could be worth a small bet as long shots.

No, the MVP award is purely for the regular season, so a Super Bowl win will have no impact on the event. In-fact, the award is announced before the Super Bowl takes place, meaning the game can have no impact on the NFL.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.