Everything you need to know about the Women's World Cup

Betting on Sports

The Women's World Cup is heading Down Under. The biggest competition in the women's game is taking centre stage this summer, but who can ride the crest of an Australian tournament wave and lift the trophy aloft come 20 August?

The current champions are the USA - can they cement a fifth title? They are the favourites to do so as it stands but can one of the European nations spring a surprise? England are the second-most fancied side, while Spain, Germany, and France are also in with a shout, according to our traders.

Here, we break down all you need to know ahead of the Women's World Cup including the key dates, the stadiums, the groups, and more.

When does the 2023 Women's World Cup Start?

The competition gets going from 20 July and runs until 20 August - an entire month of all-action, exciting women's football.

Where is the 2023 Women's World Cup taking place?

After failing with a massive bid to host the men's 2022 World Cup, Australian sporting authorities made up for it by bagging the rights to host the women's event back in 2020.

They combined with neighbours New Zealand for this tournament with the duo seeing off competition from Colombia to secure the competition.

When is the 2023 Women's World Cup final?

The women's World Cup final will take place at Stadium Australia - also known as the Accor Stadium - in Sydney from 11am UK time on Sunday 20 August.

Who are the Women's World Cup Favourites?

Currently, the world champions, the USA, are available at odds 5/2, while England are second favs at 7/2, and Spain are chasing them in at odds of 6/1. You can get 7/1 or better for the rest of the field.

Explore all BetUK’s latest Women's World Cup odds here

Women's World Cup groups in full

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
  • Group B: Australia, Canada, Nigeria, Republic of Ireland
  • Group C: Costa Rica, Japan, Spain, Zambia
  • Group D: China, Denmark, England, Haiti
  • Group E: Netherlands, Portugal, USA, Vietnam
  • Group F: Brazil, France, Jamaica, Panama
  • Group G: Argentina, Italy, South Africa, Sweden
  • Group H: Colombia, Germany, South Korea, Morocco

Who are the top 5 teams to watch at the 2023 Women’s World Cup? Find out here

England Women's World Cup schedule

It would be a massive surprise to see England fail to advance past what looks to be a gentle group stage.

Here are the matches, their dates, kick-off times (BST) and where you can watch them:

  • England v Haiti 10:30 on 22 July at Brisbane Stadium (ITV)
  • England v Denmark 09:30 on 28 July at Sydney Football Stadium (BBC)
  • England v China 12:00 on 1 August at Hindmarsh Stadium (ITV)

The BBC will show the England team's first knockout game, with the broadcaster also taking both semi-final games should the Lionesses reach that phase.

Where to watch the 2023 Women’s World Cup

The opening day sees both host nations playing while the majority of group stage days contain a whopping three live televised matches. Here’s the group stage UK broadcast details in full:

20 July: 08:00 New Zealand v Norway (BBC); Australia v Rep of Ireland (ITV).

21 July: 03:30 Nigeria v Canada (BBC); 06:00 Philippines v Switzerland (ITV); 08:30 Spain v Costa Rica (BBC).

22 July: 02:00 United States v Vietnam (BBC); 08:00 Zambia v Japan (BBC); 10:30 England v Haiti (ITV); 13:00 Denmark v China (BBC).

23 July: 06:00 Sweden v South Africa (BBC); 08:30 Netherlands v Portugal (BBC); 11:00 France v Jamaica (ITV).

24 July: 07:00 Italy v Argentina (ITV); 09:30 Germany v Morocco (ITV); 12:00 Brazil v Panama (ITV).

25 July: 03:00 Colombia v South Korea (BBC); 06:30 New Zealand v Philippines (ITV); 09:00 Switzerland v Norway (ITV).

26 July: 06:00 Japan v Costa Rica (ITV); 08:30 Spain v Zambia (BBC); 13:00 Canada v Rep of Ireland (ITV).

27 July: 02:00 United States v Netherlands (BBC); 08:30 Portugal v Vietnam (ITV); 11:00 Australia v Nigeria (BBC).

28 July: 01:00 Argentina v South Africa (ITV); 09:30 England v Denmark (BBC); 12:00 China v Haiti (ITV).

29 July: 08:30 Sweden v Italy (BBC); 11:00 France v Brazil (BBC); 13:30 Panama v Jamaica (ITV).

30 July: 05:30 South Korea v Morocco (BBC); 08:00 Norway v Philippines (BBC); 08:00 Switzerland v New Zealand (BBC); 10:30 Germany v Colombia (ITV).

31 July: 08:00 Costa Rica v Zambia (ITV); 08:00 Japan v Spain (ITV); 11:00 Canada v Australia (BBC); 11:00: Rep of Ireland v Nigeria (BBC).

1 August: 08:00 Portugal v United States (ITV); 08:00 Vietnam v Netherlands (ITV); 12:00 China v England (ITV); 12:00 Haiti v Denmark (ITV).

2 August: 08:00 Argentina v Sweden (BBC); 08:00 South Africa v Italy (BBC); 11:00 Jamaica v Brazil (ITV); 11:00 Panama v France (ITV).

3 August: 11:00 Morocco v Colombia (BBC); 11:00 South Korea v Germany (BBC).

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.