Mildmay Novices Chase Odds

As part of the Grand National meeting at Aintree Festival, the Mildmay Novices Chase represents one of the Grand National Hunt steeplechase events at the festival. Past winners include big names such as Might Bite and Big Buck's. With big names in the races history, Novice chasers will look to win this race and use it as a stepping stone to push forward for festivals in the future.

The race is run at Aintree Racecourse over three miles, one furlongs, which is the equivalent to 5,020 metres and is one of the longer races at the festival. Horses that run in this race will have run in the RSA Insurance Novices' Chase at the Cheltenham Festival, the legendary Might Bite was the last to win both, will the Real Whacker follow suit this year?

Only 4 Irish runners have placed out of the 18 runners in 20 renditions.

All three French runners have placed in this race.

However, most runners have been from GB but out of 143 runners, we've seen 28 placings and 17 winners.

Most Successful Jockeys: Richard Dunwoody (4)

Most Successful Trainers: Nicky Henderson (6)

Mildmay Novices Chase Betting Trends

Jonjo O'Neill has sent three horses to this race and produced 2 placements while C A Murphy, Lucinda Russell and Tim Easterby have all sent one horse that was victorious.

Paul Nicholls has sent 22 horses to this race with 9 placing.

Davy Russell has rode 4 horses in this race and all of them have placed.

Nico De Boinville has won 2/3 races that he has entered.

In 20 races, there has never been a winner higher than 7/1 in odds and they have all been in the first 5 of the market.

The favourite in this race has finished in the top three 13/20 times. Only finishing outside the top 5 three times.

Mildmay Novices Chase Previous Winners

YearWinnerJockey & Trainer
2022Ahoy SeniorDerek Fox & Lucinda Russell
2021Chantry HouseNico De Boinville & Nicky Henderson
2019LostintranslationRobbie Power & Colin Tizzard
2018TerrefortDaryl Jacob & Nicky Henderson
2017Might BiteNico De Boinville & Nicky Henderson
2016Native RiverRichard Johnson & Colin Tizzard
2015Saphir Du RheuSam Twiston-Davies & Paul Nicholls

Mildmay Novices Chase FAQs

Who won the first Mildmay Novices Chase?

Bregawn won the opening rendition of the race and went on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup later in his career. The winning Jockey was Robert Earnshaw and the winning trainer was Michael Dickinson.

Has any horse won this race multiple times?

No. There have been 40 winners of the race, each being a first time winner.

What is the qualification for the Mildmay Novices Chase?

To qualify for this race, horses much have ran in the RSA Insurance Novices' Chase and be aged five or over.

What is the prize money for the Mildmay Novices Chase?

The prize money for winning the Mildmay Novices Chase is £67,524 and the overall spend is £120,000.

Can I watch the Mildmay Novices Chase at BetUK?

Yes! Everyone with an account at BetUK will be able to watch the race live at BetUK by checking out the page in our sportsbook closer to the event.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.