Stayers Hurdle Past Winners

| | | |:----:|:----:|:----:| | Bet on the Stayers Hurdle | Bet on Cheltenham | Stayers Hurdle Tips |

2022 Stayers Hurdle Winner: Flooring Porter - 4/1

  • Horse Age 7
  • Jockey Danny Mullins
  • Trainer Gavin Cromwell
  • Owner Flooring Porter Syndicate
  • Starting Price 4/1


In 2022, Flooring Porter returned to the race as Champion, looking to be the first horse since the legendary Big Buck's to win back-to-back renditions of the race. He was the beneficiary of a poor start from long-term rival Klassical Dream but as the saying goes, you can only beat who you're up against as Flooring Porter eased to victory.

2021 Stayers Hurdle Winner: Flooring Porter - 12/1

  • Horse Age 6
  • Jockey Danny Mullins
  • Trainer Gavin Cromwell
  • Owner Flooring Porter Syndicate
  • Starting Price 12/1


Flooring Porter picked up his first Stayers Hurdle victory with success in 2021, after 5 horses pulled up and previous champion Lisnagar Oscar fell early on, it looked like the favourite Paisley Park would go on to victory before eventual winner Flooring Porter and French horse Sire Du Berlais overtook the horse causing an upset victory.

2010-2020 Stayers Hurdle Winners

2020Lisnagar OscarAdam WedgeRebecca Curtis50/1
2019Paisley ParkAidan ColemanEmma Lavelle11/8
2018PenhillPaul TownendWillie Mullins12/1
2017Nichols CanyonRuby WalshWillie Mullins10/1
2016ThistlecrackTom ScudamoreColin TizzardEvens
2015Cole HardenGavin SheehanWarren Greatrex14/1
2014More Of ThatBarry GeraghtyJonjo O'Neill15/2
2013SolwhitPaul CarberryCharles Byrnes17/2
2012Big Buck'sRuby WalshPaul Nicholls5/6
2011Big Buck'sRuby WalshPaul Nicholls10/11
2010Big Buck'sRuby WalshPaul Nicholls

The early stages of the 2010's saw domination in the form of Big Buck's, Ruby Walsh and Paul Nicholls, since 2012 Paul Nicholls has failed to win the race but Ruby Walsh found success with Nichols Canyon and Willie Mullins in 2017.

Lisnagar Oscar was the surprise package of this period of the race winning with horse racing betting odds of 50/1. Meanwhile, the favourite won this race 50% of the time, primarily down to the dominance of Big Buck's.

2000-2009 Stayers Hurdle Winners

2009Big Buck'sRuby WalshPaul Nicholls6/1
2008Inglis DreverDenis O'ReganHoward Johnson11/8
2007Inglis DreverPaddy BrennanHoward Johnson5/1
2006My Way de SolzenRobert ThorntonAlan King8/1
2005,Inglis DreverGraham LeeHoward Johnson5/1
2004,Iris's GiftBarry GeraghtyJonjo O'Neill9/2
2003,BaracoudaThierry DoumenFrançois Doumen9/4
2002,BaracoudaThierry DoumenFrançois Doumen13/8
2000,BacchanalMick FitzgeraldNicky Henderson11/2

*No Race in 2001

A decade of repeat winners was fantastic for betting fans as Baracouda and Inglis Drever won a number of races during this period and we also saw the rise of Big Buck's as he won the 2009 race. Ironically, Big Buck's fantastic run was nearly replicated years earlier but Inglis Drever was ruled out of the 2006 race with a season ending tendon injury which saw My Way de Solzen win the 2006 race which would end up being a iconic race in history as the splitter between Inglis Drever's wins.

Stayers Hurdle Stats Since 2000

  • Best Performing Jockey: Ruby Walsh (4 Wins)
  • Best Performing Trainer: Paul Nicholls (4 Wins)
  • Best Performing Owner: Stewart Family & Andrea & Graham Wylie (4 Wins)
  • Highest Odds Winner: 50/1- Lisnagar Oscar (2020)
  • Lowest Odds Winner: 5/6 - Big Buck's (2010, 2012)
  • Best Performing Horse: Big Buck's (4 Wins)
Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.