Ryanair Chase Odds

The Ryanair Chase is a relatively new race in the grand history of the Cheltenham Festival, but in that time it has produced many memorable races. As a Grade 1 national hunt steeplechase, it earns a lot of attention from both seasoned and novice punters looking to place a bet due to its placement as the race before the Stayers’ Hurdle on day three of the Cheltenham Festival. In fact, such is its popularity, it has begun to rival the Stayers’ as the highlight event of the day. You can find the latest Ryanair Chase odds and betting markets right here at BetUK.

About The Ryanair Chase

The Ryanair Chase is a hugely talked about race at Cheltenham, and its Irish dominance in recent history means it is a firm favourite of those looking to celebrate St Patrick’s Thursday at the festival. Despite not necessarily having the pedigree of older races, it is still a huge draw for the top trainers, jockeys, and horses, and has produced some extraordinary moments of excitement each year since its first running in 2005.

Those early races had Grade 2 status, but this was upgraded to Grade 1 in 2008, the race in which Timmy Murphy rode Our Vic to a win. Throughout its existence, the race has covered a distance of 2 miles and 4.5 furlongs on the New Course. This, coupled with the 17 fences that need to be navigated, makes the Ryanair Chase slightly more about endurance and stamina than it is about swiftness and speed, although the winners will have a balance of both areas.

The race is open to horses that are aged five or above, although to keep it as competitive as possible, competitors must have a British Horseracing Authority rating of at least 130 to be involved.

Ryanair Chase Betting Tips 

As part of our comprehensive Cheltenham Festival package at BetUK, we offer Ryanair Chase betting tips as well as every single race across the week. By taking a look at the form, performance trends, and analysis, we compile our favourites to win and/or place in the Ryanair Chase.

Cheltenham Ryanair Chase Odds 2024

Our Ryanair Chase betting odds offer some of the most competitive on the market, meaning you have access to a wide variety of bet options on this race. Explore the latest prices, and choose whether you want to place handicap, each-way, or outright winner bets on how the horses will finish. 

With the likes of El Fabiolo, Banbridge and Envoi Allen potentially running in this race, who will you back for the 2024 Cheltenham Festival’s Ryanair Chase?

Ryanair Chase Winners 

The recent history of the Ryanair Chase shows that winners have often been early favourites or close seconds. Very rarely have they been priced highly, although 2015’s Uxizandre is an exception to this. Sadly, Allaho will not make it a hat-trick of wins in this event to surpass Albertas Run and further cement a place in history alongside other past winners, due to a setback in his recovery from injury.

Recent Ryanair Chase Winners

  • 2023 - Envoi Allen
  • 2022 - Allaho
  • 2021 - Allaho
  • 2020 - Min
  • 2019 - Frodon
  • 2018 - Balko Des Flos 
  • 2017 - Un De Sceaux 
  • 2016 - Vautour 
  • 2015 - Uxizandre
  • 2014 - Dynaste
  • 2013 - Cue Card

Ryanair Chase Leading Jockeys

Some of the most famous jockeys in the UK have come out on top in this race over the years, including Paul Townend, Rachael Blackmore, AP McCoy, and Barry Geraghty. However, the most successful has been Ruby Walsh, who has won on no fewer than four occasions, riding horses including Thisthatandother, Taranis, Vautout, and Un De Sceaux.

Recent Ryanair Chase Winning Jockeys

  • 2023 - Rachael Blackmore
  • 2022 - Paul Townend
  • 2021 - Rachael Blackmore
  • 2020 - Paul Townend
  • 2019 - Bryony Frost
  • 2018 - Davy Russell
  • 2017 - Ruby Walsh
  • 2016 - Ruby Walsh
  • 2015 - AP McCoy
  • 2014 - Tom Scudamore
  • 2013 - Joe Tizzard

Ryanair Chase Top Trainers 

Up until 2019, five different trainers each boasted two wins in this race, with Paul Nicholls, Nicky Henderson, David Pipe, Jonjo O’Neill, and Willie Mullins sharing the spoils. Nicholls edged ahead with Frodon’s 2019 win, but Mullins’ clean sweep in the past three years sees him head and shoulders above his challengers, with an impressive five wins in total.

Nicholls will be back to try and close the gap, while the likes of Godron Elliot will be looking for their maiden Ryanair Chase win as a trainer.

Recent Ryanair Chase Winning Trainers

  • 2023 - Henry de Bromhead
  • 2022 - Willie Mullins
  • 2021 - Willie Mullins
  • 2020 - Willie Mullins
  • 2019 - Paul Nicholls
  • 2018 - Henry de Bromhead
  • 2017 - Willie Mullins
  • 2016 - Willie Mullins
  • 2015 - Alan King
  • 2014 - David Pipe
  • 2013 - Colin Tizzard

Ryanair Chase Betting FAQs 

When is the Ryanair Chase? 

The Ryanair Chase takes place on the third day of the Cheltenham Festival, which in 2024 is scheduled for 14:50 on March 14th.

Who is the Favourite to Win the 2024 Renewal?

The early Ryanair Chase odds have El Fabiolo as the favourite to win, with Banbridge, Fastorslow, Envoi Allen, Stage Star also likely to be in the mix.

Where Can I Find Ryanair Chase Betting Odds For 2024?

You can find Ryanair Chase odds right here at BetUK, as part of our Cheltenham Festival bet coverage that includes every race, such as the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Champion Chase, as well as odds for every race on the third day of the event.

What Are the Ryanair Chase Trends?

With previous winners all being firmly in the Willie Mullins stable in recent years, there had been hopes that Allaho would become the first and only horse to win this race three times but Henry de Bromhead took the victory after Allaho dropped out through injury. A Mullins horse might be the best way to go for this race.

Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.