Hunters Chase Odds

On the fourth and final day of the Cheltenham Festival we have the St James's Place Festival Hunters Chase. A race that runs under National Hunt rules for amateur jockeys, this race is run on the new course at Cheltenham Racecourse giving it a distance of 3 miles, 2 furlongs and 70 yards. With similarities to the Cheltenham Gold Cup, winners of this race often go on to perform at the Gold Cup in later years, hence why the race has the title of 'amateur Gold Cup'. This race was also formerly known as the St James' Place Foxhunters Chase but this was changed in 2021.

About the Hunters Chase

As the 5th race of the day, amateur riders look at the Hunters Chase as an opportunity to end the festival on a high note. The premier race of Horse Racing for amateur jockeys requires a horse to have either won or finished runner up in two Hunter Chase events to qualify for the Cheltenham Festival event.

  • Most Successful Horse: Nine Horses (2 wins)
  • Most Successful Jockey: Colman Sweeney - 3 Wins - Sleeping Night (2005), Salsify (2012, 2013)
  • Most Successful Trainer: Richard Barber & Paul Nicholls (4 wins)

Hunters Chase Betting Tips

When looking to place a bet on the Hunters Chase, there are a few trends that you may wish to consider, they are:

  • 21/21 - Priced no bigger than 66/1
  • 21/21 - Had more than 2 career wins
  • 21/21 - Won within last 5 starts
  • 20/21 - Last winner wasn't not a handicap race
  • 19/21 - Have never won with odds bigger than 18/1

Last years winner Premier Magic, had never won a race where he was odds of 6/1 or higher but miraculously won at odds of 66/1 last year.

Hunters Chase Odds 2024

When looking at the betting odds for the 2024 Hunters Chase, we recommend looking at the each way odds as point to point races tend to have winners of higher odds. We're not saying that winners will have odds of 66/1 but you may find those slightly higher numbers come out victorious in this race. Also, if you're looking to place an Ante post bet on the race, BetUK has the non runner no bet offering, meaning that if you bet on a horse and it doesn't run, you'll receive your money back for this Hunter Chase event.

Hunters Chase Winners

YearHorseJockey & Trainer
2023Premier MagicBradley Gibbs & Bradley Gibbs
2022BillawayWillie Mullins & Patrick Mullins
2021Porlock BayWill Biddick & L Williams
2020It Came to PassEugine O'Sullivan & Maxine O'Sullivan
2019Hazel HillPhilip Rowley & Alex Edwards
2018Pacha Du PolderPaul Nicholls & Harriet Tucker
2017Pacha Du PolderPaul Nicholls & Bryony Frost
2016On The FringeEnda Bolger & Nina Carberry
Take Time to Think | | 18+

We're sorry!

Unfortunately, BetUK isn't available in your country.