UK Championship Tournament Guide

2018 UK Snooker Championship Guide

The UK Snooker Championship is one of the biggest events in modern day snooker. Behind only the World Championship, the UK Championship is the second biggest ranking tournament of the year and forms 1/3 of the Triple Crown. This year, the event takes place between the 27th November and 10th December. The total prize fund is £850,000 split between the top 64 places, along with the highest and maximum break prizes.

Head over to Bet UK’s online betting for the latest UK Championship betting odds, as well as all snooker betting odds for every major tournament.

Where are the UK Snooker Championship held?

The UK Championship is being held at the York Barbican Centre for the 7th year in a row, after 4 years at the Telford International Centre. Since the Barbican’s reopening in 2011, the centre has become the home of the UK Snooker Championship. In both stints of it’s hosting, there have been classic matches at the Barbican. In 2005, an 18 year old Ding Junhui beat the experienced Steve Davis for his first major tournament win, in what was the largest age difference in a UK Championship final. The 2015 final was another highlight, as Judd Trump recovered from 9-4 down before losing the eventual tie breaker.

Where can I watch the UK Snooker Championship?

The UK Snooker Championship will be shown live on the BBC throughout the tournament. Major matches will be shown live on the channels, but every match will be available on the red button and on BBC iPlayer.

Who’s playing at the UK Snooker Championship?

The UK Snooker Championship brings together the top 123 professional players in the world, as well as 5 amateur snooker players. The top 123 are selected by their current WPBSA Ranking at the time of the draw. Snooker legend Ronnie O’Sullivan will be joined by Mark Williams, Mark Selby, John Higgins and Judd Trump to make up the top 5. Take a look at our UK Championship betting favourites for our betting tips heading into the event.

The 5 amateurs entering this year's tournament are: Luke Simmonds, David Lilley, Dechawat Poomjaeng, James Cahill and Adam Duffy. 4 of the 5 amateurs are former professionals, with David Lilley the only player without professional experience.

The Format of the UK Snooker Championship

The UK Championship has changed a few times over the years, but it finally seems to have settled on a format for the last few editions. 128 players enter the tournament at the first round. Each game will then be played as a best of 11 frames, essentially meaning the first player to win 6 frames will win the game. All the way up to the semi finals, the games will be played as best of 11 frames. The final will be a bit longer, at the best of 19 frames, or the first to 10.

Past Winners of the UK Snooker Championship

Last year’s event was won by Ronnie O’Sullivan with a straightforward 10-5 win over Shaun Murphy in the final. It was only the last 16 that Ronnie looked in any danger of losing in his 6-5 win, but even then, the Rocket was in control. O’Sullivan is joint first for the most amount of UK Championships won, equalling Steve Davis’ 6. Davis’ wins all come within the first 10 years of the tournament, from 1980-1987 in a dominant period for the Englishman. O’Sullivan might be at the top of his game right now, but he hasn’t had much recent success in the UK Championship. He has only won the tournament twice in the last 10 years, but will surely be looking for his 7th win this year. Out of other the current players, John Higgins is the most successful, with 3 wins and 2 runners up appearances.

If you are betting on the UK Snooker Championship, then please gamble responsibly and remember that when the fun stops, stop. All players must be 18+.