World Series Of Darts Preview

World Series of Darts Preview

After a number of high profile outings all around the globe, the World Series of Darts reaches its final stage in Vienna, Austria this coming weekend. The 2018 World Series of Darts Finals gets underway on Friday 2nd November and will run through to its conclusion on Sunday 4th November.

This is a tournament that is slightly different to many of the other PDC events, as the seeded players will only enter at the second round stage. The top 8 in the World Series Order of Merit will take their place as seeds. Their success in the previous World Series of Darts events throughout the year have earned them the seedings, so it is separate to the standard World Rankings. For that reason, Michael van Gerwen is only seeded 3 as opposed to his usual number 1 seed status, for example.

The 2018 World Series of Darts Finals will be taking place at the Multiuversum Schwechat in Vienna, Austria which has taken over from the Braehead Arena in Glasgow, the venue that had hosted the previous three Finals. There have been 6 World Series of Darts events throughout 2018 so far, taking place in; Gelsenkirchen, Las Vegas, Shanghai, Auckland, Melbourne and Brisbane. The events started in May and have all lead to this Austrian culmination.

The total prize money pot for the event is a stellar £250,000, with £50,000 of that going to the winner. The runner-up will receive a not too shabby £25,000 while the losing semi-finalists will take home £16,500 each. The entire tournament can be viewed live on ITV4 as well as on the subscription service PDCTV. The tournament will be played under a legs format, with the first and second rounds a best of 11 legs, the quarter-finals a best of 19 legs and the semi-finals and finals a best of 21 legs.

Previous World Series of Darts Events

German Darts Masters 2018

Winner: Mensur Suljovic

“The Gentle” will have home advantage in Vienna this weekend, but he also enjoyed a hugely supportive crowd back in May when he claimed the German Darts Masters title in Gelsenkirchen. No-one that say that Suljovic didn’t earn the title, as he defeated Peter Wright in the semi-finals and Dimitri van den Bergh in the final, both by an 8-2 scoreline. This event was played in front of 20,210 people, a record-breaking number for a darts tournament.

US Darts Masters 2018

Winner: Gary Anderson

Taking place in Las Vegas in July, it was “The Flying Scotsman” Gary Anderson that claimed the US Darts Masters title. The final came down to Anderson and Rob Cross, with the former winning 8-4. This was Anderson’s sixth World Series title, proving that this is an event that he truly flourishes in. There were 8 North American representatives in this event, all of which went out in round one apart from Canada’s Dawson Murschell who reached the quarter-final stage, only to lose to the eventual champion.

Shanghai Darts Masters 2018

Winner: Michael Smith

Michael Smith was the surprise winner of the Shanghai Darts Masters in mid-July. Englishman Smith did things the hard way too, beating the juggernaut that is Michael van Gerwen in the semi-final then seeing off World Champ Rob Cross in emphatic fashion 8-2 in the final. Royden Lam was the best performing of the 8 Asian qualifiers here, reaching the quarter-final stage.

Auckland Darts Masters 2018

Winner: Michael van Gerwen

The fourth outing for the World Series of Darts 2018 took place in New Zealand. It was Auckland in August for the world’s greatest darts players, where it was “Mighty” Michael van Gerwen that claimed the win. He overcame Gary Anderson, Peter Wright and Raymond van Barneveld throughout the tournament in what was an impressive show of strength from the imperious Dutchman.

Melbourne Darts Masters 2018

Winner: Peter Wright

The event then moved to Australia the following week, as the Melbourne Darts Masters was claimed by Peter Wright. Wright had lost in the 2017 final of the same event, but redeemed himself with an 11-8 win over Michael Smith in the final. “Snakebite” had also defeated Raymond van Barneveld and Michael van Gerwen on his way to the title.

Brisbane Darts Masters 2018

Winner: Rob Cross

Another outing in Australia in August led to the Brisbane Darts Masters being won by Rob Cross. This was the first time the World Series of Darts had headed to Brisbane and there were plenty of Australian players taking part. The final was between Rob Cross and Michael van Gerwen though, with Cross accomplishing a hugely impressive 11-6 win against the world number 1.

World Series Of Darts Finals Draw

For the World Series of Darts Finals, Michael van Gerwen is the defending champion as he has won the competition for the past three years running, the most recent coming after an 11-6 win over Gary Anderson in the 2017 final. He will begin his defence of the World Series of Darts title on Saturday against either Maik Langendorf or Damon Heta. The Darts odds suggest that MVG is the big favourite to win yet another tournament, but will the change of venues from previous years affect him?

Peter Wright is the top seed for the tournament and will start his campaign in the second round against either Gerwyn Price or Royden Lam. The reigning World Darts Champion and Brisbane Darts Masters winner Rob Cross will have a tough test to begin with against either Jamie Lewis or Dimitri van den Bergh.

Gary Anderson claimed the US Darts Masters title, but will he be able to fend off either Dave Chisnall or Dawson Murschell here? We will find out on Saturday. Plus, Michael Smith and Mensur Suljovic have claimed Darts Masters titles throughout 2018 and are thus seeded for the event. Smith will take on either Ian White or Kyle Anderson, while Suljovic faces Steve Beaton or Daryl Gurney.

Friday November 2 (19:00 UK Time)

First Round

Raymond Smith v Keegan Brown

Maik Langendorf v Damon Heta

Ian White v Kyle Anderson

Dave Chisnall v Dawson Murschell

Jamie Lewis v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Gerwyn Price v Royden Lam

Steve Beaton v Daryl Gurney

Ross Smith v James Wade

Saturday November 3 (19:00 UK Time)

Second Round

Michael Smith v Ian White/Kyle Anderson

Raymond van Barneveld v Raymond Smith/Keegan Brown

Gary Anderson v Dave Chisnall/Dawson Murschell

Peter Wright v Gerwyn Price/Royden Lam

Simon Whitlock v Steve Beaton/Daryl Gurney

Rob Cross v Jamie Lewis/Dimitri Van den Bergh

Mensur Suljovic v Ross Smith/James Wade

Michael van Gerwen v Maik Langendorf/Damon Heta

Sunday November 4

Afternoon Session (12:45 UK Time)


Evening Session (19:00 UK Time)



World Series of Darts Betting

If you are looking to place a bet on the World Series of Darts, check out our darts betting markets right here on the Bet UK online betting sportsbook. World Series of Darts betting markets will be available both pre-tournament and in-play. Make sure to check out all of our darts betting tips too.

Whether you decide to back the favourite Michael van Gerwen or go for a complete outsider such as Dawson Murschell, please remember to gamble responsibly and if the fun stops, stop. All players must be 18+.

Bet £10, get £10 + 10 free spins

£10 qualifying bet must be placed with cash on any sports market at minimum odds of 1/2. £10 free bet will be credited once qualifying bet has settled. Value of your free bet will not be included in any winnings. £10 free bet has a 7 day expiry.T&Cs apply.. 18+,

10 Free spins will be credited on Starburst with all paylines active. Spin value £0.10. Winnings from free spins will be credited as cash. 3 day expiry. 18+, T&Cs apply.

Full Terms and Conditions