T20 Big Bash League Complete Guide

Bet UK’s Complete Guide To The T20 Big Bash League

The 2018/19 Big Bash League gets underway when the Brisbane Heat host the reigning champions Adelaide Strikers on the 19th December. The Big Bash is getting more and more popular not only in Australia, but around the world. If this is your first year following the Big Bash, or simply need a refresher, Bet UK have pulled together a complete guide to the Big Bash League.

For the latest Big Bash betting odds, head over to Bet UK's online betting, with cricket betting markets available on all matches this season.

What is the Big Bash League?

The Big Bash League is the Australian domestic T20 league played from December to February. The Big Bash League is the Australian equivalent of England's Vitality Blast, which is played during the summer. However, the Big Bash League is a much higher profile tournament, with larger crowds and bigger name players attracted to Australia.

The tournament took over from the T20 Big Bash, with the inaugural Big Bash League taking place in December 2011. There aren't too may differences between the 2 competitions. The main change was the introduction of 8 new teams, replacing the original 6 that took part in the T20 Big Bash. Those 6 sides remained in the Sheffield Shield, the first class cricket competition in Australia, meaning that the 8 new sides were founded in 2011 with the sole aim of T20 cricket.

Teams In The Big Bash League

There are 8 teams that compete in the Big Bash League. Each team plays 4 teams once, and 3 teams twice, including their assigned rival. Check out our Big Bash Fixtures for a complete list of every game this season.

Team Coach Captain Home Ground Odds To Win
Adelaide Strikers Jason Gillespie Travis Head & Colin Ingram Adelaide Oval 4/1*
Brisbane Heat Daniel Vettori Chris Lynn The Gabba 5/1*
Hobart Hurricanes Adam Griffith Matthew Wade Blundstone Arena 7/1*
Melbourne Renegades Andrew McDonald Aaron Finch Marvel Stadium 6/1*
Melbourne Stars Stephen Fleming Glenn Maxwell Melbourne Cricket Ground 5/1*
Perth Scorchers Adam Voges Mitchell Marsh Optus Stadium 4/1*
Sydney Sixers Greg Shipperd Moises Henrique Sydney Cricket Ground 8/1*
Sydney Thunder Shane Bond Shane Watson Spotless Stadium 9/1*

The 4 rivals matches in the league are:

Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers
Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes
Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars
Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder

Who Plays In The Big Bash League?

The Big Bash League attracts the best limited overs players on the planet. While always attracting big names such as Lasith Malinga, Chris Gayle and Mitchell Johnson, this year could be the best mix of world class talent and rising stars. Reigning champions Adelaide Strikers have resigned Afghanistan bowler Rashid Khan and South African Colin Ingram as their overseas players. Khan was last season's top bowler and is one of the best bowlers in the world at just 20 years old, whereas Ingram is a Big Bash journeyman with plenty of experience. Last years player of the tournament D'Arcy Short returns for the Hobart Hurricanes, hoping to match his batting heroics of last season. Jos Buttler and Joe Root are 2 names that will certainly be familiar to English cricket fans. Both players will be lining up for the Syndey Thunder. So if you are looking for a team to follow for the upcoming season, it might be worth keeping an eye on how our national talents get on down under.

Who Has Won The Big Bash League?

In the 7 different Big Bash Leagues, we have seen 5 different winners, with only 1 team having won the title more than once. In 2011/12, Syndey Sixers won the first edition of the Big Bash League, beating Perth Scorchers in the final. The Scorchers would lose again in the 2012/13 final, this time to Brisbane Heat who won by 34 runs. In 2013/14, Perth finally got their first Big Bash League win. The perennial runners up beat the Hobart Hurricanes by 39 runs in the final at the WACA. In 2014/15, Perth retained their title in a repeat of the inaugral final. Scorchers beat the Sydney Sixers by 4 wickets in their home ground to become the first team to win the Big Bash League for a second time. The 2015/16 final was the first season that Perth Scorchers didn't reach the climax of the season. Instead Sydney Thunder played Melbourne Stars, with the Thunder winning the match by 3 wickets. Perth returned to winning way in 2016/17 with a 9 wickets win over the Sydney Sixers. Last year, the 2017/18 season saw a new winner crowned. The Adelaide Strikers won their first ever Big Bash League in what was their first final, with a 25 run win over Hobart Hurricanes.

Important Rules In The Big Bash League

  • Each team is formed of 18 players, including 2 Rookies, 2 Overseas players and 2 Replacement Overseas players.
  • For the 2018/19 season, a bat toss will replace the traditional coin toss at the start of the match.
  • If a match ends in a tie, a 'Super Over' will be played. Each team will face 6 balls and have 2 wickets to decide the winner of the match.
  • The top 4 teams at the end of the tournament are entered into the knockout stages. In the semi-finals, 1st will play 4th, and 2nd will play 3rd.

Big Bash League Records

Batting Records
Most Runs Michael Klinger 1,802
Highest Average Usman Khawaja 50.31
Highest Score D'Arcy Short 122*
Highest Partnership Rob Quiney & Luke Wright 172
Most Sixes Chris Lynn 102

Bowling Records | | | --- | Most Wickets | Ben Laughlin | 85 Lowest Average | Rashid Khan | 13.83 Best Strike Rate | Yasir Arafat | 13.6 Best Economy Rate | Lasith Malinga | 5.40 Best Bowling Figures | Lasith Malinga | 6/7 Best Bowling Figures By A Debutant | Daniel Sams | 4/14

Fielding Records | | | --- | Most Dismissals (Wicket Keeper) | Tim Ludeman | 33 Most Catches (Fielder) | Glenn Maxwell | 29

Team Records | | | --- | Highest Total | Hobart Hurricanes | 223-8 Lowest Total | Melbourne Renegades | 57

*All odds from Bet UK's online betting correct at the time of writing.

If you are placing a bet on T20 Big Bash this season, gamble responsibly and please remember that when the fun stops, stops. All players must be 18+, begambleaware.org.

£5 Free Bet Welcome Offer - T&C’s Apply. £5 qualifying bet must be placed at min odds of 1/2. Free bet credited within 24 hours of settled bet. Free bet value not returned. Available only once to new and existing customers, any free bets credited as a free bet token, minimum deposit and withdrawal is £5.