World Grand Prix Darts Betting Review

World Grand Prix Darts Betting Review

Michael van Gerwen proved that he is indeed still the best darts player on the planet by claiming the 2018 World Grand Prix title at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin. MVG won the trophy after a quite frankly bizarre final against Peter Wright.

Many pundits were suggesting that the world number one may not be the dominant force that he once was and that players such as Gary Anderson and Peter Wright were going to challenge for the top spot. Van Gerwen proved that when it really matters, he is still very much the man to beat. It may not have been his greatest performance ever, but the Dutch dynamo hit the right shots at the right time in this 2018 World Grand Prix final to eventually overcome Peter Wright 5-2.

From a darts betting point of view, MVG went into the tournament as an Evens* outright favourite with Bet UK’s online betting. The previous few TV tournaments had not gone his way at all, most recently losing in both the group stage and semi-final of the Champions League of Darts. That will all be forgotten now though, as he heads into a busy few months knowing that he’s the World Grand Prix Champion.

Saturday’s match was Michael van Gerwen’s fifth World Grand Prix final in the last seven years, with this victory providing “Mighty Mike” with his fourth title. It has to be said that the final itself was one of the strangest finals the darts world has ever seen. Even the Sky Sports commentary team could not work out exactly what was going on early in the contest. MVG was averaging a paltry 73 at one point in the second set, which is astonishingly low for someone of his immense talent.

Amazingly though, despite how poorly van Gerwen was playing, his opponent Peter Wright just could not take advantage. Peter Wright had pre-tournament darts odds of 15/2* and looked great going into this match but just could not replicate his form. In the entire match, MVG missed 25 darts at a double when attempting to checkout, only landing 16 out of 41 efforts. The crucial part of the match came when the players were locked at 2-2 with the world number 1 looking completely out of sorts. Peter Wright was in control of the fifth and deciding leg of set five, but could not handle the pressure. This lead to van Gerwen taking out an excellent 101 checkout and there was only one winner from that point on.

“Snakebite” will be incredibly disappointed with the way the final went and must feel like he has missed a big opportunity. It is well known that he has struggled in major finals, particularly against van Gerwen, so this will have been another blow. The next event for both players will be the European Championship on October 25, quickly followed by the World Series of Darts Finals on November 2nd. Stick with Bet UK’s sports betting blog for darts betting tips and predictions on all of the big upcoming events across the autumn and winter months.

Darts Results

Saturday October 6


Michael van Gerwen 5-2 Peter Wright

Friday October 5


Mensur Suljovic 3-4 Peter Wright

Daryl Gurney 1-4 Michael van Gerwen

Thursday October 4


Mensur Suljovic 3-2 Gerwyn Price

Peter Wright 3-2 James Wilson

Daryl Gurney 3-0 Gary Anderson

Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Dave Chisnall

Wednesday October 3

Last 16

Mensur Suljovic 3-0 Ian White

Steve Beaton 1-3 Gerwyn Price

Peter Wright 3-0 Jermaine Wattimena

James Wilson 3-2 Adrian Lewis

Tuesday October 2

Last 16

Dave Chisnall 3-0 Raymond van Barneveld

Gary Anderson 3-0 Jeffrey De Zwaan

Daryl Gurney 3-2 Ron Meulenkamp

Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Darren Webster

Monday October 1

Round One

Jermaine Wattimena 2-0 Mervyn King

Josh Payne 0-2 Ian White

Danny Noppert 0-2 Gerwyn Price

Peter Wright 2-0 Steve West

Rob Cross 0-2 Steve Beaton

Mensur Suljovic 2-0 James Wade

Simon Whitlock 1-2 James Wilson

Michael Smith 1-2 Adrian Lewis

Sunday September 30

Round One

Jeffrey de Zwaan 2-0 Kim Huybrechts

Ron Meulenkamp 2-1 Joe Cullen

Darren Webster 2-0 Stephen Bunting

Ricky Evans 1-2 Raymond van Barneveld

Dave Chisnall 2-0 Max Hopp

Daryl Gurney 2-0 John Henderson

Michael van Gerwen 2-0 Steve Lennon

Gary Anderson 2-0 Jonny Clayton

*All odds from Bet UK’s online betting feature were correct at the time of writing.

Remember, if you are placing a bet on future darts events, please do so responsibly and when the fun stops, stop. All players must be 18+. BeGambleAware.