Cheltenham Gold Cup Betting Tips

Cheltenham Gold Cup Betting Tips

The highlight of the whole Cheltenham Festival is the Cheltenham Gold Cup. Run on the final day of the Festival, the Gold Cup is the perfect ending to the 4 day event. To help you out with your selections this year, Bet UK have a complete racecard and Gold Cup betting tip with updated ante post and pre-race odds as we lead up to the event.

For the latest Cheltenham Festival betting odds, head over to Bet UK’s online betting, with horse racing betting odds on every race during the Festival.

Bet On The Cheltenham Festival at Bet UK

Bet On The Cheltenham Festival at Bet UK

In the lead up to the event, get the latest Cheltenham betting odds over at Bet UK’s online betting. Not sure which horse to bet on? Then take a look at our Cheltenham betting tips for the thoughts of our racing expert.

2020 Gold Cup Betting Tip

Delta Work To Win - 6/1

The 2020 Gold Cup is one of the most open races in years, so there are plenty of opportunities to find some value. 2019 winner Al Boum Photo is likely to run again, but we are looking at Delta Work @ 6/1. Delta Work was a winner at Leopardstown’s Irish Gold Cup at the start of February, beating the likes of Kemboy and Presenting Percy. In his previous race, he beat Monalee to the post, again at Leopardstown. All 3 of those horses are projected to be in the card for the Gold Cup. If Delta Work was to win, he would become only the 4th horse to win both the Irish Gold Cup and the Cheltenham Gold Cup in the same year, and the first since Sizing John in 2017.

Delta Work is 6/1 at the moment in the ante post market, but what do we mean by ante post? Ante post betting is betting on a horse before a race card has been confirmed. This means that come raceday, the horse might not even end up running. Normally, this would mean you would lose your stake, but Bet UK are offering Non Runner No Bet on this year’s Gold Cup. This means that if your selected horse doesn't end up running, you’ll get your money refunded in full.

Bet on the Cheltenham Festival

Join Bet UK For A £10 Free Bet

Potential Racecard for the 2020 Gold Cup

3:30 Cheltenham - Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase

Grade 1 - Class 1 - 3m 2 1/2f

Number Horse Form Jockey Trainer Weight
1 Al Boum Photo /11-21 --- W P Mullins 11-10
2 Alpha Des Obeaux 2-2333 --- Gordon Elliott 11-10
3 Bristol De Mai F34-22 --- Nigel Twiston-Davies 11-10
4 Chris's Dream 15-P11 --- Henry De Bromhead 11-10
5 Clan Des Obeaux 152-21 --- Paul Nicholls 11-10
6 Death Duty 11F/44 --- Gordon Elliott 11-10
7 Delta Work 3-1411 --- Gordon Elliott 11-10
8 Elegant Escape 6-236P --- Colin Tizzard 11-10
9 Frodon 11-331 --- Paul Nicholls 11-10
10 Jett 271264 --- Mrs John Harrington 11-10
11 Kemboy U1-142 --- W P Mullins 11-10
12 Lostintranslation 21-11P --- Colin Tizzard 11-10
13 Monalee 14-P32 --- Henry De Bromhead 11-10
15 Presenting Percy 18-353 --- Patrick G Kelly 11-10
16 Real Steel -1141P --- W P Mullins 11-10
17 Saint Calvados 37-142 --- Harry Whittington 11-10
18 Santini 132-11 --- Nicky Henderson 11-10
19 The Conditional 4-3124 --- David Bridgwater 11-10
20 Shattered Love -51732 --- Gordon Elliott 11-3

History of the Gold Cup

The Gold Cup is one of horse racing’s oldest races, with the first official edition taking place in 1819, 200 years ago. At that time, it was a 3m flat race and was won by Spectre, earning his owner 100 guineas for his success. In 1924, the race was updated to a jumps race and was awarded a total prize of £685. At that point, the race was run on the ‘Old Course’ but in the late 50’s the decision was made to move it onto the ‘New Course’, bringing the Gold Cup into the Modern Era.

The 1960’s brought about one of the most successful horse’s of all time at Cheltenham; Arkle. From 1964 to 1966, Arkle dominated the Gold Cup, and was even priced up at 1/10 in the 1966 race, making him the shortest Gold Cup winner of all time. More records were broken in 1983, with trainer Michael Dickinson remarkably training the top 5 horses in that year's Gold Cup. Bregawn, Captain John, Wayward Lad, Silver Buck and Ashley House were all trained by Dickinson. In 2009, Kauto Star became the first horse to win the Gold Cup not in back to back years. Kauto Star won in 2007 before losing out in 2008, and then winning it back a year later.

Ahead of the 200 year anniversary of the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Cheltenham racecourse announced that they had regained possession of the trophy from 1924, the first jumps Gold Cup. The trophy will be awarded to the 2019 winner, giving trainers and jockeys alike another reason to push for the Gold Cup.

*All odds from Bet UK’s online betting markets correct at the time of writing.

If you are betting on Cheltenham, please gamble responsibly and remember that when the fun stops, stop. All players must be 18+,